Self-Study Tips: Find Your Style

In summary: I try to read everything that I can about the material that I am studying. This includes anything I might need for the class, such as practice problems, lectures, examples, etc. This helps me to stay on top of the material, and to understand it in depth. I usually try to study for a few hours every day, but I also like to take breaks and review what I have learned. I also like to have practice problems and exams available, so that I can practice and test myself. I usually try to find a tutor or professor to help me with difficult material, but I have also been successful studying on my own. What I found to be helpful
samspotting
Open question, respond with your style.

Physics news on Phys.org
What I found to be extremely detrimental to all my attempts at self study are the lac of repetition and drilling of the material. However, looking back, I'd probably take an assload of notes and go over them, constantly for a few hours a day for a few days, progress, do the same again, review them material, etc. However, I'm a Biology guy, so I really have no useful information in how to study Physics and Math.

kingdomof said:
What I found to be extremely detrimental to all my attempts at self study are the lac of repetition and drilling of the material. However, looking back, I'd probably take an assload of notes and go over them, constantly for a few hours a day for a few days, progress, do the same again, review them material, etc. However, I'm a Biology guy, so I really have no useful information in how to study Physics and Math.

This is pretty good advice for physics and math as well (though 'repetition' in these areas really means doing problems).

What I would do is first do a little research to find out what the best textbook/learning material is for the particular area I want to study. Once you buy that treat it like you would any class.