Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

How does a magnet work?

1. Apr 13, 2004 #1
    newbie here - i know this question is tangled up with the question, "what is a field?" and "how does a field work?", but to keep it simple (ha!) can someone please try to explain how a magnet works? ie, how is force transmitted from the magnet to its surroundings? does a magnet "do work"? sorry if this sounds like a troll, but it is such a fundamental question and i, for one, cannot answer it...

btw, i am not interested in a textbook definition of "field", as that does not explain how it operates. i am also not too interested in a discussion of the "exchange of virtual particles" since no one seems to be able to explain what virtual particles are or how they operate either. thanks.
  2. jcsd
  3. Apr 14, 2004 #2

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

A filed is an equation that tells us the vqlue of a quanitity such as force, which acts at a particular position at that field. In other words it describes how strong a force is on a particle at a particular point. A magent creates a magnetic field by having the magnetic moments of its electrons aligned in the same direction. this causes other ferromagnetic materials to try and align their magnetic moments to oppose the effect pof the magnet and give and overall force of zero at every pint in the magnetic field.
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2004
  4. Apr 15, 2004 #3

Well, many fundamental questions are often the most difficult to answer to.Without carriers of EM force (ie.virtual photon exchange mechanism) It would be very difficult to find explanation...
  5. Apr 16, 2004 #4
    To attempt to explain classically.