Switching Majors in the First Year: How Does it Affect Your CV?

• Thread starter Gargle Blaster
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Cv
In summary, the person is asking if leaving their previous school and switching majors will look bad on their CV when applying for grad school in theoretical and mathematical physics. The expert does not have enough information to comment on whether letters should be included in the applications, but believes the circumstances should not negatively impact the application. They also mention that switching majors in the first year is not uncommon and if the person accomplished something in their previous major, it could actually be beneficial on their CV.
Gargle Blaster
I'm starting to prepare applications for grad school and I have one question.

Before I started studying physics I was studying EE for one year, but I didn't like the school so I quit and went for physics (from the first year again) and now I want to study theoretical and mathematical physics.

Do you think, that this will look bad on my CV? Should I give an explanation, why I left the school (or why I went to the school) in the motivation letter, or something like that?

Thanks

Physics news on Phys.org
I can't comment on whether you should include letters in your applications, because I don't know the procedure of the schools you are applying to. However, I don't see that your circumstances will look bad on your application. To me, it seems like you tried something, didn't like it so changed, and are now applying to research in an area you have shown interest in. How can that look bad?

Switching majors your first year isn't bad. Just curious, how is that being fit into a CV? Did you do research or come out with some degree in EE? If you accomplished something in EE this can't look bad on a CV.

1. How do I list my research experience in my CV?