Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

How far is too far?

1. Feb 19, 2013 #1
    I knew there was a reason I wanted to be a physics Prof...

http://news.yahoo.com/columbia-prof-strips-shows-9-11-tape-during-021232869.html

I got my undergraduate degree from Sonoma State University (SSU) in California back in the 90's. SSU was popularly known as "Granola U" in the California State University system for its liberal hippiesh ideals, just on par with Humboldt university not too far away.

I remember this one anecdote where an art instructor was fired for having his students produce "butt prints" in class, whereby they dropped their pants, sat in paint, and then "printed" their art on construction paper laid out on the floor. This was a big deal because the Granola U'ers thought this was protected as freedom of expression in the educational system.

But how far is too far. Thoughts?

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 19, 2013 #2
    Two feet past the edge of a cliff is too farrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr splat!

4. Feb 19, 2013 #3
    If you're not living on the edge, you're taking up too much room!

5. Feb 19, 2013 #4
    It's amazing to see how easily you guys are entertained...

6. Feb 19, 2013 #5
    LOL. Touche..

7. Feb 19, 2013 #6
    From the article: http://news.yahoo.com/columbia-prof-...021232869.html [Broken]

I wouldn't recommend hiring this guy as a private tutor for your daughter's college physics course...:eek:

Last edited by a moderator: May 6, 2017
  8. Feb 20, 2013 #7
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7zdjfRQRHeE

Here is the video, interesting approach but not sure about the effectiveness at actually doing anything besides inducing embarrassment.

9. Feb 20, 2013 #8