Do my college credits expire after 10 years?

• Thread starter Freyster98
  • Start date
In summary, the speaker graduated from high school in 1999 and attended college for two years for business, but did not do well due to disliking the subject. They re-entered college in 2007 for engineering and are unsure if their previously earned credits in general education classes will still count towards graduation. They have read that these credits may expire after 10 years, but hope that since they re-entered before the 10 year mark, they will still count. The speaker plans to ask their advisor for more information and notes that this policy may vary by institution.
Freyster98
I graduated from high school in 1999. Starting that fall ( of '99 ), I went to college ( for business ) for about 2 years and did horribly because I hated the subject matter, but I did earn some credits in a few gen-ed classes that met the english, social/behavioral science, and humanities requirements. I re-entered in the fall of 2007 for engineering, and am wondering if these classes should still count towards graduation. I've read some places that they "expire" after 10 years, but for such generic classes not really related to my major, is this true? My hope is that since I re-entered before that 10 years is up they should count, but worry that since I'll be graduating after the 10 year mark they won't.

I understand this probably differs from institution to institution, but any general examples of how this works would be greatly appreciated. And yes, I'm going to ask my advisor later this week. Thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org
Freyster98 said: