1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

How many hours should i take next semester?

1. Sep 20, 2005 #1
    I am currently a freshman in university with 25 hours credit. After this semester, I will be able to take chemistry 2 (3), phy 2 (E&M and wave) (3), linear algebra(4) , D.E with application (4) , Multivariable Calculus (4) , Theoretical Concepts of calculus (3) , and abstract Algebra 1 (3) in UT Dallas and some core classes in junior college. I plan to take all science related classes in UTD, my question therefore is how much hours and what classes i should take if there is not max limit hours?
    I believe i can take the work load of 3 math classes and 4 other classes. And I will follow for the FastTrack 5 years Master plan in MS of mathematical science major that they offer.

Any advise will be appreciated.

Last edited: Sep 20, 2005
  2. jcsd
  3. Oct 7, 2005 #2
    anyone can help me?

4. Oct 8, 2005 #3
    hmm.. 25 hours. do you sleep? I've taken 21 hours a couple times, but it doesn't leave you much time for anything else. My freshman year i took 15 hours and 18 hours, respectively. That seemed to work well for me. Even if the junior classes are easier, 25 hours is a huge load.

5. Oct 8, 2005 #4

tmc

Ive got 25 next semester, and I doubt Ill have time to sleep:
    mechanics2
    E&M
    Modern Physics
    Group Theory
    Diff Eq
    Topology
    6-hour physics lab

I suggest a 5-6 course workload, so 15-18 credits.

6. Oct 8, 2005 #5

mrjeffy321

Science Advisor

You attend UTD?
    So do I.

UTD Whoosh!

7. Oct 8, 2005 #6