Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

How much do you pay in taxes?

Tags:
  1. Sep 1, 2006 #1

ShawnD

Science Advisor

It seems like comparing countries, especially when it's against the US, always comes down to taxes. Why no health care? Taxes. Why is military big/small? Taxes. Public education? Taxes!

This thread is really simple. State where you live and how much of your paycheck, as a percent, is jacked. Include all deducations. If your income is $3000 and you only took home $2337, count the entire $663 as taxes.

I live in Edmonton, Canada and I pay 22.1% tax.

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 1, 2006 #2

JasonRox

Homework Helper
    Gold Member

As a student, I guess I pay nothing and will for awhile to come.

I'm not sure how much I would pay though, but I'm guessing 22% or so.

Although I don't pay taxes now, I'd be fine with paying an extra 10% and not getting my tax return if only we had a better health care systerm. Unfortunately, the government is too corrupted to do this and others wouldn't agree because they think it should be free. :rolleyes:

4. Sep 1, 2006 #3

Evo

Staff: Mentor

I'm in the 28% tax bracket. That's just Federal, I also have state income tax.

5. Sep 1, 2006 #4

Moonbear

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

About 21% if you include the FICA and Medicare taxes as Federal taxes. Plus, there's an approximately 4% state tax. Sales tax is 6% here. Thankfully, I no longer live in a city, so don't have to pay city taxes too.

6. Sep 2, 2006 #5

Chi Meson

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

With a new mortgage and three kids, I've got no federal liability at all (deduction of mortgage interest plus child tax credit actually gives me back more than was withheld). Still with Connecticut income, sales, plus local taxes (Property, sewar, fire district, car fees) I pay just over 15%.

God help those who rent.

7. Sep 2, 2006 #6