1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

How much does SAT matter?

1. Jan 14, 2010 #1
    I am a high school student opting for university next year. My grades are all As. I am in the top ten of the school. I also am the President of the Theatre Club and the FOSS club. I am also active member of my schools Theoretical Physics Club. In addition to that i have started my own NGO along with my friends...

However, my SAT scores are 1960 only!! I want to opt for nice colleges like MIT and Stanford for Engineering. But my friends tell me i cant make it cause my grades are too low.

So can anyone give me some idea about can i make it to colleges like these or not..

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 14, 2010 #2
    SAT's aren't all that important, but they are used as a filter.

a) What's your math/verbal/writing split? Most of these schools have a big discrepancy between the average math and verbal scores. See if you're in the ballpark for their math scores.
    b) I'm totally unclear on whether you're a junior or senior. If you're still a junior, shell out for kaplan/princton review/etc. and practice some more. Then take them again.
    c) If you're a senior, talk to the college adviser at your school. They usually have a baseline for where you can get in.
    d) If you're a senior, your apps are due soon anyway/already due. Just apply to your dream schools and make sure to apply to some safeties. Worse case, you won't make it into a reach. It really won't kill you.

4. Jan 14, 2010 #3
    1960 is very low for anyone that wants to get into a STEM career. I suggest reviewing and then retaking the SAT.
    Are you Hispanic or African American?

5. Jan 14, 2010 #4