Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

How much is enough?

1. Jul 14, 2008 #1
    So I'm studying Calculus: Seventh Edition by Larson on my own, and I'm having good fun learning the material, but I have a complaint: things are going too slowly! I spend some time on it each day (probably two+ hours), doing every exercise of every section. Usually there are about a hundred (for instance, 124 in the 'evaluating limits analytically' section of the limits chapter). Do you guys think that's too many problems? I realize that practice makes perfect, and I'm as happy as anyone to hone my skills, but it seems like I could be learning much more stuff in a shorter time-span if I only did half the problems (all the odd ones so I can cut down on time and check my answers when I'm done).

So would it be wise to continue doing all the problems, but take quite a bit more time, or would cutting out 1/4th of the problems or something not affect my proficiency much?

How do you guys self study?

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 14, 2008 #2
    Only you can answer this... Do you think you understand everything halfway through the problems?

4. Jul 15, 2008 #3

tmc

If you already understand the material, why are you doing the other 60 problems?

5. Jul 15, 2008 #4
    No one ever understands the material fully. I think math is just practice.

Even a professor can have hard time solving a problem from first year calculus book (e.g. my profs).

Does Larson have pretty good paper and pictures!? I love those big calculus books! Last summers, I was doing Larson/and other calculus (Stewart, .. ) books on my work breaks, ..etc :_) They are so addictive!

6. Jul 15, 2008 #5

LowlyPion

Homework Helper

Doesn't it pretty much depend on what you are planning to do with what you learn?