1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

How sure a job is quant?

1. Apr 30, 2010 #1
    How "sure" a job is quant?

So I would like to do a PhD in physics when I am done my undergrad, this is something that I personally want to accomplish because I really love the field and want to satisfy my own curiosity. But of course I want to learn more about my future AFTER the degree as well. My top 2 choices would be a tenure track position or a becoming a quant. I would have to be extremely lucky to get a tenure track position, but how big is the job market for PhD quants? If I have a PhD in physics, do I have a good chance of being hired? Or is it difficult to find a job in the field?

thanks for any info you can share

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 30, 2010 #2
    Re: How "sure" a job is quant?

No physics Ph.D. that I know of that has looked for work in finance has been unable to get a reasonably paying job. I know of a few that are dissatisfied because what they ended up doing is more "computer babysitting" than "heavy math crunching", but that's a different issue.

As far as the future goes, the world is going to change and finance is also going to change, but barring some major economic catastrophe (which is possible), it's hard for me to imagine that physics Ph.D. skills won't be useful somewhere. One reason that finance is interesting is not that finance can't blow up (it can), but if finance blows up, everything else also blows up too.