Broaden Math Studies: Tips for Undergraduate Students

• Thread starter Opus_723
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Study
In summary, a rigorous calc book and working through it, algebra, or abstract algebra can help you deepen your understanding of mathematics.
Opus_723
I'm an undergraduate student, currently finishing up Differential Calculus and preparing to start a Physics major. It had been a couple of years since I'd done any math when I started this class, and I had to brush up on Algebra and Trig, but I'm currently at the top of my class in Calculus, and I'm consistently getting 100% on exams, so I'm feeling pretty confident.

However, I still feel hazy on a lot of the more obscure techniques we learned in high school, and lately I've gotten very interested in various sites around the internet filled with really awesome looking math, as well as some more conceptual stuff. Anyway, I've gotten very interested in improving my math skills. So I've decided to invest in a couple of high school textbooks so I can work through them and review everything I've forgotten.

My question is, if I want to really deepen my understanding of math, what should I do besides this? I feel like a lot of stuff gets skipped over in classes, especially proofs. (I've been getting more interested in proofs lately. I've never been good at them, and feel like I should be able to start doing some simple ones without being walked through, however, I have no idea where to start with this.)

What I'm looking for is some sort of road map that takes you into more interesting, obscure math, while still being at a level that a Calc student can understand. I realize textbooks are a good road map to essential concepts, but I feel they're lacking. I'm having a hard time expressing what I want, but I'm interested in more... I don't know, fun, engaging, tough math.

What would be ideal is if these also pertained to algebra and calculus, so I wouldn't be wandering too far off track study-wise.