1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

How to decide:MechE or ChemE

1. Mar 3, 2013 #1
    Hello all,
    I am a sophomore in college and I need to decide my college major now, as in the next two days.
    I have always been interested in Chemical Engineering, since I like chemistry and like to think about large-scale thermodynamics and fluid dynamics. I think it would be cool to work in bio-fuels or a waste-water treatment plant helping design/modify the treatment processes. I always enjoy chemistry.

I also think MechE is cool, and of course broad.
    I am interested in mechanical alternative energy like turbines for wind and water power, geothermal power and other stuff. I like to know how things work.

I don't mind either curriculum.
    What I don't want to do is end up doing process engineering for a company making Windex or paper or some product I am not interested in.... Like I said, biofuels would be interesting and environmentally important, and so would wastewater treatment, but I know it is hard to get into biofuels.

Any advice? I feel like chemistry and environmentally important chemical processes fascinate me but then I think of all the silly products I might have to help make, and I am discouraged from chemical engineering. I think it would be easier to get into alternative energy or green structures from MechE, especially since my school is highly ranked in Mechanical Engineering.

Any advice would be helpful.

I am leaning towards ChemE to pursue a biofuels career, and I can always get a masters in MechE somewhat easily and then help design mechanical stuff.
    But I am relatively depressed and feel that no matter what my decision will be, I will always wonder what I could have done with the other discipline and have regrets...

2. jcsd