How to figure out what major I want to do the most: Engineerings/Physics

In summary, the individual is a freshman in college and is struggling to choose a major. They have a strong interest in math, physics, computer science, economics, biology, and chemistry, and are considering chemical engineering, mechanical engineering, electrical engineering, and physics as potential majors. They are currently taking introductory courses in these fields and are also interested in pursuing a career in industry or entrepreneurship. To make a decision, they plan to speak with current students and professors, consider their career goals, and possibly take a career aptitude test or gain firsthand experience through internships or research opportunities. Ultimately, they will need to weigh their interests, skills, and aspirations to make the best choice for themselves.
Airman
I'm currently a freshman in college and I can't decide on a major. I absolutely love math and physics, as well as computer science, economics, biology, and chemistry. I got 44 credits from AP classes so I'm taking several higher level classes and I need to decide soon on my major. I'd say the 4 majors I'm considering the most are chemical engineering, mechanical engineering, electrical engineering, and physics, but those aren't the only options. To help me decide I'm taking the intro courses to Chem Eng, ME, and Physics this semester and I'll be taking the intro to EE next semester. However, I still have the "problem" in that I'm really good at all of them and I really enjoy all of them. What more can I do to figure out what I want to do?

Also as for after college, I used to wonder whether I wanted to go on for a higher degree and do research, but now I'm mostly leaning towards going into industry. I'm also interested in a more entrepreneurial type of job, but again I'm undecided here also. Any comments or experience would be appreciated.

Physics news on Phys.org