1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

How to Get better at Physics?

1. Nov 5, 2015 #1
    Ok so I'm a senior in high school and I am having a lot of problems on my Physics tests. I'm taking Physics Mechanics AP. I am a very advanced math student, I finished BC Cal last year and I understand Calculus. I don't know why I just can't understand Physics. Today I took a test on Forces and I completely botched the free response portion of the test that's worth half the points. I studied for 6 hours the day before, did problems day after day, finished all 90 something problems in the problem bank. My teacher doesn't help me; when I ask him why this works the way it does he rejoinders with a question along the lines,"Why do you think so?"

So what do I do? How do I get better at this subject?

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 5, 2015 #2
    Hi, when I was in high school taking AP Physics (currently a 3rd year undergrad), my high school teacher would make us re-do missed problems on our exams 10 times for extra credit but with different given numbers. As tedious as this sounds, it's still a practice I follow to this day in my upper div Physics classes. It was probably the 3rd or 4th time through where the problem finally made logical sense to me.