Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

How to hold you pencil

1. May 11, 2008 #1
    http://www.drawyourworld.com/grip.html

I am trying to make sure that I hold my pens and pencils correctly. Is it true that the 4th finger (ring finger) is NEVER supposed to press against the utensil in the proper grip? I think that is what they are showing at the link but then I guess I have been holding my utensils wrong for many years.

2. jcsd
  3. May 11, 2008 #2
    Dont worry about how to hold a pen and pencil; however, make sure you know how to hold a fork and knife. Most Americans dont know how.

4. May 11, 2008 #3
    Well sometimes it feels a little awkward when I write so I want to correct this once and for. I write MUCH more than I hold a fork or knife.

5. May 11, 2008 #4

cristo

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

This is something I noticed, actually.. how many Americans cut their food with fork in left hand, knife in right, and then swap them over: put the knife down and pick the food up with the fork in their right hand to eat it. Three of the Americans I know do that.. I wonder whether it's a trend?

6. May 11, 2008 #5
    Yes, but you look MUCH worse when your at a dinner and cant hold a fork and knife propely than when writing something down.

I hold my pencil like in the link you gave me. Thats how we were taught in school.

Last edited: May 11, 2008
  7. May 11, 2008 #6
    No, they just dont know how to eat. I've seen lots and LOTS of people hold their fork and knife with a FIST GRIP. Yikes. The foods already dead....relax......

8. May 11, 2008 #7

cristo

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

LOL, that sounds way too funny! I wish I'd seen them!

9. May 11, 2008 #8
    When I write, my fourth finger is always pressed against the writing surface. Although, I have seen some unusual writing styles during my time. I say do whatever works best for you!