How to hold you pencil

• Thread starter ehrenfest
  • Start date

Main Question or Discussion Point

http://www.drawyourworld.com/grip.html

I am trying to make sure that I hold my pens and pencils correctly. Is it true that the 4th finger (ring finger) is NEVER supposed to press against the utensil in the proper grip? I think that is what they are showing at the link but then I guess I have been holding my utensils wrong for many years.

Answers and Replies

Dont worry about how to hold a pen and pencil; however, make sure you know how to hold a fork and knife. Most Americans dont know how.

Dont worry about how to hold a pen and pencil; however, make sure you know how to hold a fork and knife. Most Americans dont know how.
Well sometimes it feels a little awkward when I write so I want to correct this once and for. I write MUCH more than I hold a fork or knife.

cristo
Staff Emeritus
Science Advisor
This is something I noticed, actually.. how many Americans cut their food with fork in left hand, knife in right, and then swap them over: put the knife down and pick the food up with the fork in their right hand to eat it. Three of the Americans I know do that.. I wonder whether it's a trend?

Well sometimes it feels a little awkward when I write so I want to correct this once and for. I write MUCH more than I hold a fork or knife.
Yes, but you look MUCH worse when your at a dinner and cant hold a fork and knife propely than when writing something down.

I hold my pencil like in the link you gave me. Thats how we were taught in school.

Last edited:
This is something I noticed, actually.. how many Americans cut their food with fork in left hand, knife in right, and then swap them over: put the knife down and pick the food up with the fork in their right hand to eat it. Three of the Americans I know do that.. I wonder whether it's a trend?