Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

How to improve your handwriting?

1. Feb 21, 2012 #1
    I really need to but I have no idea how :frown:
    I've been writing for at least 15 years, assuming I started writing when I was ~5 yet I'm still pretty terrible at it.

How does one solve this problem?

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 21, 2012 #2

wukunlin

Gold Member

how terrible are we talking about? if it is legible, leave it alone tbh.

4. Feb 21, 2012 #3
    It's legible to me, not so much other people or even me if it's been a while since I wrote it..

5. Feb 21, 2012 #4
    type everything.

The reason most people's handwriting is bad is because they hurry. Mine was never wonderful but by the time I hit college it became much much worse. You can study calligraphy if you really want beautiful writing or you can go back to the beginning and form each cursive letter correctly and take enough time when you write to do it. You're most likely just writing too fast. Just type everything. That's what I do and then change it over to a cursive style if I want it to look nice.

6. Feb 21, 2012 #5

Evo

Staff: Mentor

My handwriting is mostly printing, sometimes with a bit of connectivity like cursive. It looks better, takes little effort, and is easier to read than cursive. Once you get into the working world, anything outside of personal notes will be typed, even on a whiteboard you should print.

7. Feb 21, 2012 #6
    True about the printing. A family member whose handwriting was so bad his future wife needed help translating his letters to her became an educator, printed everything rather than wrote it and his printing was quite good. (His future wife told him - why didn't you try printing a few years sooner :-) )

8. Feb 21, 2012 #7