How to make chemistry my forte

In summary, a 10th grade student from India is seeking help with their difficulty in understanding chemistry and their lack of confidence due to a teacher who does not provide adequate support. They are looking for recommendations for a chemistry book that will not only strengthen their understanding but also increase their interest in the subject. However, it is suggested that in addition to books, a combination of physics, mathematics, practical skills, laboratory exercises, and other chemistry courses may be necessary for a comprehensive understanding of the subject. Some recommended authors for chemistry textbooks include Petrucci and possibly Mortimer, Mortinson, or Morrison.
Vatsal Goyal
Hi everyone, I am a 10th grade student studying in India( would be in 11th in 2 months)I am not very good at chemistry. I have difficulty understanding the concepts. Although I don't have any doubts, I just don't feel confident. Also, my teacher is not very good. Whenever I would ask him anything, he would say it is irrelevant and there is no need to understand it, while I want to go deep into the subject and understand it completely.

Can anyone suggest me a good chemistry book that would strengthen, encourage me to think and boost my interest in chemistry?

Physics news on Phys.org
Books by themselves will not do what you want. What is necessary is combine the right book sequence with Physics, Mathematics, and some practical skills (like from engineering), and LABORATORY EXERCISES, properly assigned in adequately equipped lab classrooms. One more thing, is to include some Chemistry courses, along with their assigned textbooks.

Years ago, one of the good authors for General Chemistry textbooks was Petrucci; and there was another author of a good General Chemistry book whose name started with M, but I no longer remember exactly. Mortimer? Mortinson? Morrison?

Likes Vatsal Goyal

1. How can I improve my chemistry skills?