How to Ace the TOEFL iBT: Tips and Resources for Brazilian Students"

• Thread starter Hobold
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Study
In summary, the Brazilian Mechanical Engineering student plans to study for the TOEFL iBT by doing practice tests and focusing on the questions asked.
Hobold
Hello.

I am a Brazilian Mechanical Engineering student and my country is currently sending quite a lot of students to USA Universities through a government program. One of the requirements is to do the TOEFL iBT and to have at least 79 points out of 120, so I would like to start studying ASAP, as I'm aiming for at least 100 points.

Have any of you done this test before? How did you study? Which books did you use? Is there a good webpage on the internet to study/do sample tests? I have ordered Kaplan's book, which is likely to arrive next week, but I wouldn't like to wait to start studying.

Any tips are welcome, thanks.

EDIT: I'll have to do intensive study, as my test is due February 3rd

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
I did the TOEFL iBT one year ago and found it to be quite easy. I only did the free sample test they give you for practice. 79 is also quite a low score I believe. 100 is very manageable if you can read, write and understand spoken English fine.

I really don't know how one would go about studying for this text other than doing practice tests. It's meant to assess your level in English so unless you can improve that level fast which is not easy there is not much to do other than really preparing for the type of questions they ask.