Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

How to study when you feel down?

1. Aug 3, 2014 #1
    Hi guys, long time lurker of physics forum here. Some time ago I read a thread about how to study when you have depression, or something along those lines, so I figured I should ask for similar advice.

I'm a university student in summer school. I also have OCD and an incredibly low self esteem/self worth. Whenever I open my books, I think to myself, "I'm always going to be an idiot, so why try?" And when I do focus long enough, nothing seems to work. I tried going soft on myself, I tried going rough, I tried taking more OCD meds than I should've, but nothing works.

I'd just like some advice on how to actually produce results, that's all. I have a lot of reading to do. Should I just skim it, and when I'm feeling better, go into detail?

Last edited: Aug 3, 2014
  2. jcsd
  3. Aug 3, 2014 #2

ZombieFeynman

Gold Member

First, I think you should talk to someone with training in handling psychiatric matters. It sounds like you are taking medication, which means that you are at least in some contact with someone who can facilitate that sort of help. You should start there.

That being said, I think self-esteem can be raised by setting goals and accomplishing them. Start small. Tell yourself that your goal is to read a couple sections in a chapter in the next few hours. Then do it! Once you have accomplished this goal, I think you will feel at least a little better, so set a new one. Slowly increase the time scales and ambitiousness of your goals.