1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

How to study?

1. Jul 16, 2012 #1
    I've been a pretty good student all my life, been in honors classes, AP classes and what not, gotten A's and B's without putting much effort in. I'd read over something once and remember enough of it to get by, but now that I'm in college I'm starting to realize it isn't quite enough anymore. So I have finals in a couple weeks and I'm stuck. I don't know how to study. Everything I've ever read about studying basically ends up meaning but not saying memorization. I guess I want to know, how do I understand a subject enough for a test?

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 16, 2012 #2
    I find that having a different mindset helps. Don't study for the test: study until you understand the material.

4. Jul 16, 2012 #3
    If you take notes, rewrite them; read the text and take notes. Be sure to write in such a way that you can understand. You also need to do practice problems. Be able to explain each step of your problem solving. Try studying with others to obtain different perspectives.

5. Jul 16, 2012 #4

micromass

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2016 Award

What is your major??

It might help you to study in groups and discuss the material together. A lot of people find that helpful.

Studying for something requires a lot of time. You need to do a lot of exercises.

If you have a formula, try not to memorize it, but try to memorize it through using it a lot. For example, don't memorize the substitution formula for integrals, but use it a lot in your exercises so that you know it eventually and it becomes second nature.

I always learned better by writing. I would read the theory and then rewrite the chapter. It helped me a lot. You got to see what works for you.