1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

How to understand circuits

1. Sep 30, 2013 #1
    Hello, i'm in my 2nd year of EE. I have done circuit analysis and some basic into to diodes, transistors and op-amps.

We have a class in which we are given circuits for a audio amplifier and a power supply. We are required to understand the circuits completely. How they work and why each component is necessary.

I am not sure how to approach this. I have learned how to calculate voltages, currents etc. But not design. Is this common in universities? My understanding of semiconductors is weak so i am going over op-amps and diodes again.

How can I learn to understand circuits?

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 30, 2013 #2

UltrafastPED

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

The first circuits course is usually analysis ... how to understand what is going on ... and you focus on solving for the currents and voltages, starting with static cases using Ohm's law and KVL/KCL (batteries, power supplies, resistors, some diodes and transistors, op amps), then transient cases using Laplace transforms (switches), then alternating currents (fixed frequency, phasors, power transfer).

During this process you will start to recognize certain standard elements: voltage dividers, bridges, rectifiers, simple filters, etc. Design is the process of putting together these elements to achieve a particular goal. This is very similar to how you learn computer programming: you learn a language, its syntax and objects, then you write programs which do what you want.