Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Howdy Folks! :-)

1. Aug 10, 2009 #1
    Howdy all,

My name is Shawn! I am the newbie (at the moment) on this forum and to Math and Physics. I am 24 years of age (25 in six days) and I live in southern Illinois, USA. My current employment is coal mining.

I would like to learn math and physics. I own various Meteorology forums and for a love of forum administration, I thought I would go ahead and turn to a forum for help with math and so forth, and this one caught my attention.

For many years I have had an extreme passion for Meteorology and Climate interests. I am a long time storm chaser and SKYWARN storm spotter. I was going to college for Criminal Justice to be a cop but I have lost interest in it. I really really really want to go to school for Meteorology but I am not good at math, so I figured if I put my mind to it and tried hard, I can learn it easily because I'd love to go into Meteorology as a career.

Thank you for having me and I hope to learn a lot here :D

Kind Regards,
    Shawn Gossman

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 10, 2009 #2

Moonbear

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Welcome to PF Shawn! You're right that it's a lot easier to learn a subject when you're really interested in it and have a goal in sight. And you'll find plenty of help around PF as you work toward that goal.

4. Aug 10, 2009 #3

Ivan Seeking

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Welcome to PF, Shawn. You will find plenty of help here.

If you have any good storm-chaser photos, please feel free to share. :tongue2:

5. Aug 10, 2009 #4
    Hi Shawn, nice to have you here.

6. Aug 10, 2009 #5
    Welcome. You'll like it here, everybody is extremely helpful.

7. Aug 10, 2009 #6

turbo

Gold Member

Welcome and ditto on the storm-photos.

8. Aug 10, 2009 #7

Danger

Gold Member

Welcome aboard, Shawn.