Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

HVAC Industrial Placement

1. Jun 18, 2009 #1
    Right, not sure where this should go exactly but feel free to re-locate if necessary.

I'm starting a placement as a student engineer in July with a company which specializes in HVAC for industry. I am currently doing a degree in Aerospace Engineering (BEng Hons).

Basically, all I want to know is if anyone has any idea what I can expect. Any ideas on the type of work I will be doing? Whether from experience with HVAC or just a student placement in general.

Here is the description of the job I was given:
    WOZAIR
    Wozair design and manufacture Heating, Ventilation and Air Conditioning Equipment for the Oil & Gas, Petrochemical, Marine, Nuclear and Process Industries.
    The UK headquarters for Wozair are based in Gillingham in Kent
    There is a placement opportunity with Wozair for an undergraduate student to work within the projects engineering department assisting engineers with day to day tasks including:
    Production of engineering schedules and documentation
    Structural and pressure drop calculations
    Functional and acceptance testing of manufactured equipment
    Modifying and updating and developing excel based manufacturing/engineering software.
    For further details of Wozair please look at their website: www.wozair.com

I was just wondering if anyone could elaborate and give me a better idea of exactly what I can expect. Anyone done a similar HVAC placement or any relevant placement they can give me advice from?

I'm not worried about the work (once I know what it is, it's bound to be relevant to my course), but I really don't want to be blind-sided on my first day/week on something simple because I'm not fully sure of what I'm supposed to be doing.

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 18, 2009 #2

russ_watters

Staff: Mentor