1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Hydroelectric power station

1. May 22, 2004 #1
    I have a question that I have to answer and it seems I really stuck its for my mechanical engineering course (I'm actually studying Aerospace) I'd appreciate any help.

Q: Water driving a hydroelectric power station falls a total distance of 158 m.
    Calculate the total power available assuming all energy is harnessed.

Ive already found the answer for exit velocity of water and volume flow rate couldnt find mass flow rate (as I couldnt remember the equation).

I really appreciate any help :wink:

[tex]

\mu = {10^-6}

[/tex]

Last edited: Jun 13, 2004
  2. jcsd
  3. May 22, 2004 #2

enigma

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Welcome to the forums, Alix!

Always good to see another aerohead here!

Couldn't you calculate the specific power? Basically ignore the mass term and find an answer in W/kg.

EDIT
    Ignore what I just said. Mass is volume times density (keep the units in the calculation... you'll see they cancel out and leave mass)

Last edited: May 22, 2004
  4. May 22, 2004 #3
    Thanks for warm welcome enigma :smile: .
    If I´m not mistaken, I need time in order to find power as " Power = Work Done / time " and we dont have any time or anything related to find power.

any help

5. May 22, 2004 #4

Ivan Seeking

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

The answer would have to be in watts per volume per second. If you know the flow rate then you should be done.

6. May 22, 2004 #5
    I really cant understand so its actually : Work Done/flow rate (not time?)

and work done is sum of Kenetic and potential energy?

:confused:

7. May 22, 2004 #6
    Ok I have another problem