I am an ekg technician

Main Question or Discussion Point

Hi,

First off, I am new to this forum, so please excuse me if I do not fit in with the norm of this website.

I am an ekg technician. I do many ekg's everyday and was wondering what the heck these electrodes pick up. I understand it is the electric current being measured across the heart. But, I don't understand what subatomic particles are being transferred (if that is what is occurring). Please help me understand if you can. Huge thanks to anyone who answers!

Answers and Replies

dlgoff
Science Advisor
Gold Member

Welcome to Physics Forums.

EKG machines measure small electrical potentials.

Electrocardiograph (ECG, or EKG [from the German Elektrokardiogramm]) is a transthoracic interpretation of the electrical activity of the heart over time captured and externally recorded by skin electrodes.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/EKG" [Broken]

Last edited by a moderator:
berkeman
Mentor

Hi,

First off, I am new to this forum, so please excuse me if I do not fit in with the norm of this website.

I am an ekg technician. I do many ekg's everyday and was wondering what the heck these electrodes pick up. I understand it is the electric current being measured across the heart. But, I don't understand what subatomic particles are being transferred (if that is what is occurring). Please help me understand if you can. Huge thanks to anyone who answers!
So to add just a bit to Don's answer. The "subatomic particles" that are moving are electrons, but they don't move very much or very far. The small voltage variations that you see on the different EKG lead traces result from very tiny electrical signals being coupled to the electrodes.

Just as you can use a voltmeter to measure the voltage of a 9V battery, the EKG machine's leads pick up the small voltage variations that are coupled to the skin surface from the electrical activity of the heart's conduction system.

tiny-tim
Science Advisor
Homework Helper