1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

I am being discouraged

1. Sep 19, 2014 #1
    This probably sounds a bit silly for some people, but the truth is that it is affecting me. The situation is this:
    I am in what it the equivalent to a major physics degree program in my country ( I am also majoring in computational sciences). Lately, mostly because I found profoundly interesting what I am studying, have encourage my self to participate more in class, which has been difficult, because of being very, very shy.
    Anyway, besides of being an excellent student (and by excellent I mean, excellent), some classmates of mine constantly laugh at my questions, or answer them their self (talking over the professor) in a condescending tone (wrongly, of course), like if they pity me for being so stupid. I know that my questions are not silly at all, but I do not have a strong personality to defend my point. Then, in order to show that I am not stupid, every time the professor asks something during his lecture, I answer rapidly and make silly mistakes, sinking even deeper.
    I know that I am not stupid, and I show results (perfect average, 5 or 6 kind of good research projects going on) and also I am practically in love with physic. But this thing has been going on for a while and is now impacting me and my academic results in a bad way.
    Do you have any suggestion of what I can do? Or a way to convince my self to ignore this?
    Thanks!

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 19, 2014 #2
    If you know you're smart, that's all that matters. The loudmouths will soon be forgotten. Just hang in there.

4. Sep 19, 2014 #3

adjacent

Gold Member