Should I Include Microsoft Word in My Resume Skills?

In summary: Summarize the content of the conversation above?In summary, the conversation is about a first time builder aiming for a lab monitor position and including skills in Mathematica, Maple, TeX, and Microsoft Word. Any advice is provided, including whether it is stupid to include Microsoft Word on one's resume. High school students should have resumes, and one should continually update and modify it according to academic achievement and experience. When leaving university, one doesn't include experience before university.
flyingpig
It's my first time building one.

I am aiming at a lab monitor position. I've included my skills in Mathematica, Maple, TeX (I am going to really TeX this one up to look cool) and some other trivial stuff like Microsoft Word.

Any advice? Is it stupid to add microsoft word as part of my skills?

Physics news on Phys.org
flyingpig said:
It's my first time building one.

I am aiming at a lab monitor position. I've included my skills in Mathematica, Maple, TeX (I am going to really TeX this one up to look cool) and some other trivial stuff like Microsoft Word.

If one is coming out of school, then one simply indicates experience with MS Office (Word, Excel, PowerPoint)

Companies do look for skills in computational software, e.g., MathCad, Mathematica, MatLab, ANSYS, ABAQUS, STAR-CD/CCM+, or whatever. Companies also consider courses/electives in addition to the major and core coursework.

No I am just working for my college. Probably minimum wage and hours

Same goes. High school students should have a resume. One continually updates it, and modifies it according to academic achievement and experience. When leaving university, one doesn't include experience before university.

Astronuc said: