Life After College: Non-Teaching Career Options

In summary: Set up a business. I have a Masters and I was a teacher now I run my own bike shop. I spend my days fixing bikes and I like it.
kikko
I am getting my BS soon, I'm okay with going on to get my Masters if I want to do Medical Physics, but I'm not too keen on getting a PhD. I do not want a teaching job. Can anyone explain life after college to me if you want a job not in teaching or grad school? I'm pretty clueless.

Physics news on Phys.org

Go into industry :).

what jobs can I get without grad school besides teaching?
Whatever jobs you apply for. You may be more or less qualified for certain positions.

I wouldn't assume a physics B.S. can easily find a teaching job (even if it's because it's what you don't want to do). Most high schools want an education degree and a teaching certification (even most private schools). Community colleges mostly require a Masters in physics.

lepton33 said:
I wouldn't assume a physics B.S. can easily find a teaching job. Most high schools want an education degree and a teaching certification (even most private schools). Community colleges mostly require a Masters in physics.

I don't know where you are located, but that's not true where I live. High schools here prefer Physics BS (however, at the K-8 level, I suspect what you say is true). The teaching certificate is also required, unfortunately, which is 2 years of wasting your time in California. Private schools don't require a teaching credential here typically, or at least that's my understanding.

Pengwuino said:
The teaching certificate is also required, unfortunately, which is 2 years of wasting your time in California.

I agree, most high schools seem to require that now and it amounts to getting a minor in education. What a big waste of time, after looking at the curriculum for such an accolade at my university I almost refuse to do it because I see it as a waste of time.

Feynman didn't need such frivolities <.<