Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

I can't start proofs

1. Feb 21, 2006 #1
    everything i have to prove seems impossible
    then i see it done and it seems so easy
    any help on starting a proof,...anybody ever have this problem
    i am new to this stuff, but my problem is I don't know what i need to show and what is legal to use
    so this is my current problem, i'm sure it's extremely easy for all you math geniuses so spare me the arrogance

If f itself is 1-to-1 then f^-1 is a function.
    Let f:G->H be an onto function
    prove
    (i) If V is contained in H then f(f^-1(V))=V

i'm pretty sure i understand onto and 1-1 definition
    i also understand why it's true, i think
    i also can somewhat understand the homomorphism stuff of it

i just don't know where to start, what to do, what it really is asking

then i gotta prove this, but have not looked into it because i'm still on (i)
    (ii) If W is contained in G then W is contained in f^-1(f(W)) and this could be a strict containment

abstract algebra seems to be an endless barrier in my math knowledge
    is the key to it, memorizing endless amounts of definitions??:yuck:
    seriously

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 21, 2006 #2
    1) Write down the definitions. (that's how you start!)

4. Feb 21, 2006 #3
    i did, i wrote evrerything down i knew
    but i'm not sure how to apply it i guess, (that's how i started!!)

5. Feb 21, 2006 #4

quasar987

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

anatomy of a proof

As you see more and more proofs, you'll start to see that there is a finite number of tehcniques one uses to prove things.

But almost all of them begin by writing down the definitions.

Start with the definition of an onto function from G to H.

Follow with the definition of f^-1(V).

Then with the definition of f(A) where A in a subset of G.

Then replace A by f^-1(V).