1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

I dont understand what uniform acceleration is?

1. Sep 8, 2004 #1
    hello fellow Physicians, My names Faisal and i'm a a physics student, i'm really stuck on a question :mad: & i could really use u'r help :cool:
    Ok
    An object with an initial speed of 3m/s begins to accelerate uniformly at 2m/s2. what will b its speed 5s later?

i dont understand what uniform acceleration is?
    i really need to know the basics of physics before i can start anything advanced can u physicans recommend a good website?

Last edited by a moderator: Sep 15, 2015
  2. jcsd
  3. Sep 8, 2004 #2

Alkatran

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

First of all, write down what you knwo and what you don't:
    d (distance) = ?
    vi (starting speed) = 3 m/s
    vf (final speed) = ?
    a (acceleration) = 2 m/s^2
    t (time) = 5 s

Now, there are about 5 formulas that relate those 5 values. I can't name them off, but look at it logically: the acceleration is change of speed per second. The change of speed PER SECOND IS TWO, and it lasts FIVE SECONDS. So if you are going 2 faster every second, for 5 seconds, and you start at 3... what do you do?

Still need more help?

4. Sep 8, 2004 #3
    Velocity/speed is the rate of change of position.
    Acceleration measures the rate of change of velocity.
    Uniform acceleration ==>acceleration remains constant with time

For your Problem:
    Remember these fudamental eqns:
    [tex]
    (i)v=u + at
    [/tex]

[tex]
    (ii)v^2=u^2 + 2as
    [/tex]

[tex]
    (iii)s=ut+\frac{1}{2}at^2
    [/tex]
    Try to figure these out yourself
    EDIT:where v is final velocity
    u is initial velocity
    a is acceleration
    t is time taken
    s is the displacement

Last edited: Sep 8, 2004