Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

I feeling down please help me

1. Aug 25, 2009 #1
    I've been serving tables for 4 years and yesterday just gotten my shifts taken away from me allegedly because I am a "bad server." Its really ball-crushing to have been told that you suck at your own trade. Whats even worse is the girl I was eyeing on is going "pick up my slacks" as my boss put it. I think I should just forget about asking her out now. Everyone says I look nervous when serving tables but really I just try too hard. Maybe I should have payed more attention to how I was looking. They are still giving me two shifts on Sat and Sun. Should I even bother showing up? I am gonna work with "her" on Sun, I am thinking I should tell her I got school **** so I was gonna ask about getting cut anyway.

I served 3 years at a different place. I just started at this place. 4 years doing a stuff and just got completely emasculated and humiliated on the very thing you should be good at by now, not to mention in front of a girl you really like.

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 25, 2009 #2
  4. Aug 25, 2009 #3
    ... from your post history, it sounds like only a summer job. It is not your trade, and shouldn't be, unless your goal is to be an uneducated dipwad. Your post history indicates that you are attempting to not be an uneducated dipwad.

Also, this 'emasculated' thing? Can men stop worrying so much about their masculinity? Really, it pisses women off. It smacks of sexism and a lack of confidence.

5. Aug 25, 2009 #4
    Haha..let me get this...men should not worry about their masculinity because it makes them look less confident (aka, less manly) and less attractive to women.

Well, this is obviously true, but it's funny that your statement which intended to say the opposite just demonstrated the point!