Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

I hate my engineering job

1. Oct 11, 2011 #1
    I hate my engineering job!!

I graduated from university last year at the top of my year, I used to enjoy engineering at university as i found it challenging and I enjoy doing maths. I am now working in industry as a design analyst and I absolutely hate it!! I find it so boring, all I do all day is sit in front of a screen messing about with mesh on fea programs and running the analysis! I now think to myself, why did i ever study engineering in the first place!!?

Is all engineering jobs like this?

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 11, 2011 #2

phinds

Gold Member
    2016 Award

Re: I hate my engineering job!!

Sounds like you've got a loser there. I was an electrical engineer for the first 20 years or so of my career and I absolutely LOVED it. I got to design computers and rocket electronics and some really neat stuff, back in the 60's and 70's.

4. Oct 11, 2011 #3

hotvette

Homework Helper

The key is understanding what it is you like to do and to pursue that with vigor. Everybody is different. My first job was lab work debugging ink jet printer head designs. I hated it and transferred after two years to, guess what, doing FEA analsyis! I loved it.

5. Oct 11, 2011 #4

AlephZero

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

You have fallen into a common "beginner's trap" here.

Making models and running them is NOT the important part of your job, though it may be taking up most of your time.

The important part is deciding whether the output from the models makes any sense, and then using it to make some engineering decisions. As Hamming said, "the purpose of computing is insight, not numbers". (And today one might change it to "insight, not pretty graphical output")

6. Oct 12, 2011 #5