Designing a Ramp for Consistent Ball Rolling: Exploring Formulas and Variables

• Thread starter Crystal Faye
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Ramp
In summary: I am not very good with math :(. So I am going to have to get help from my classmates.I have to work with a partner to do this project.Do you have any advice on what to do if I cannot get help?In summary, the student is looking for help with selecting a ball and ramp material for a design project that is due next Friday. They mention that they are not very good with math and will need help from their classmates. The student also mentions that they have to work with a partner on the project. The student provides a summary of the content and ends with advice on what to do if they cannot get help.
Crystal Faye
I have to make a ramp, eek!

Here is my assignment. I would appreciate help with choosing what formula to use. I am so lost.

Design a Ramp:

The ramp can be made of any material and be any width, length, and/or height. The only rule is that there must be a ball of any material that will consistently roll from a noted point A to a noted point B on this ramp.

The ball much be rolling from point A to point B in 1.8 consistently over a one meter stretch. [ It is also an option to create a scenario in which the ball with take .9 seconds to travel over a .5 m ]

Physics news on Phys.org
The linear acceleration of an object rolling down an incline, without slipping, with an angle of [itex]\theta[/itex] with respect to the horizontal is given by

[tex]a = \frac{g\sin(\theta)}{1 + A}[/tex]

where

[tex]A = \frac{I_{com}}{MR^2}[/tex]

where [itex]I_{com}[/itex] is the rotational inertia of the rolling object around its centre of mass.

Thanks for the help :)

What ball and ramp material do you recommend?

And also, if the ball must travel 1 meter in 1.8 seconds [or .5 meters in .9 seconds], should we get the ball to accelerate BEFORE the "measured meter".

We are only in our first few weeks of physics.