1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

I just can't concentrate

1. Mar 15, 2007 #1
    Nowadays, I have a lot of problems concentrating on studies. I mean, I just can't concentrate...

One reason is that I get distracted easily. If I am stuck for a moment in my study, I take the remote in my hand and switch on the TV. I think I can work hard to battle this problem.

But on the second problem, I dont know what to do. Even if the TV is on and I am studying, even if it is on low volume, it irritates me. I can't concentrate. And hen I lose my temper a bit, stop studying, or just go to another room where I still can't study because I'm irritated.

I think a lot of subconscious beliefs go into studying. A lot of this is just psychological, but I don't know how to combat it. any suggestions?

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 15, 2007 #2
    Lol, i kinda get what you mean.

-I always to turn on the PC if i am in front of it.
    -I also get very sleepy when i try to concentrate.
    -Or i suddenly start relating my studies to something, then my thoughts move to something else.

What you can do is to study in groups. When you do so, you feel motivated and you will forced to act different since you are in front of people. Unless you and your friends start to move away from the real purpose together, you should be able to concentrate in studies.

4. Mar 15, 2007 #3
    try and make a point of going somewhere that's well-lit and relatively quiet. I find that doing so helps me "get in the mood"

5. Mar 15, 2007 #4
    I have similar issues. I've decided I actually work when I'm at school instead of home so I'll travel to school to do work on Saturdays... all in the name of graduating :)

6. Mar 15, 2007 #5
    try thinking of what will happen if you never study to get you motivated