Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

I need a new group of friends, but I don't know how

1. Nov 13, 2011 #1
    I'm a sophomore in college and live in the dorm. I have a friendly roommate and hallmates, most of whom I met and socialized with last year. Now that we're all living together, though, I see that we are more friends of convenience and not really because we enjoy each other's company. Basically, we hang out in our rooms all the time, whether it be doing homework or watching movies or whatever.

Why I'm fed up with them: I am a very active person and enjoy running, hiking, and biking. I try to get a group organized to go somewhere (anywhere, and I'm open to suggestions), but they always say they're busy. Then I won't go because I don't want to go alone, and we just end up sitting around the dorm. I am constantly getting politely declined but never excluded, and I'm getting tired of trying to do anything. They say they do enjoy such activities, but in a year and a half, we've gone out once (and that was at the beginning of last year).

It's hard to make new friends because everyone seems to already have their groups. I don't see many people who do the sorts of things I like doing (I would be up for a camping/kayaking/climbing trip every weekend). I've considered joining the adventure club.

It's not that I don't like my current friends...they're all very nice, but they are just so...boring.

Advice? Should I seek new faces or try to get my current friends to do activities with me?

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 13, 2011 #2

Astronuc

Staff: Mentor

It doesn't sound like one's roommates or friends of convenience could be pursuaded to go running, hiking, and biking. So perhaps one can find an outdoor group/club where folks like to go biking or hiking.

If there is a mountaineering or alpine clud, try that.

Otherwise, I think one would be left doing it alone.