1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

I need advice for grad.

1. Jul 28, 2009 #1
    VERY low gpa (around 2.8)
    GRE V590/Q740
    MATH major
    no research experience
    one semester left
    I am a student at university of illinois at urbana-champaign.

I know it is not easy to get admission for grad. school, but
    I really want.
    Actually, my major was CS and my CS gpa was under 2.0 for 3 semesters.
    so I changed my major to MATH. my math GPA is about B-
    (I took 8 math course and got B+/- except one course(C+))
    If I don't like to study math, I will not go to the grad school, but I really like.

Question.
    I have no idea where I can apply... Can I top 30? 50?
    Do I need to retake GRE?
    If I retake GRE and I got Q800 points, is it better than now?
    I will take GRE math subject test. If my subject score will be good, is it helper? how?
    Actually, I want to get research experience but I do not know how..
    just I directly contact any professor?

Thank you.

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 28, 2009 #2
    You probably won't like my insight: