Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

I need help with my Torque project

1. Nov 30, 2007 #1

dur

Please if any one can help me with my torque project. I need some subjects, and pecturs to finsh it. This is my first project to do, and I hope that well done. I look on the physic's site, but I afraid of any matter appropriately chosen.
    Thank you

Last edited by a moderator: Nov 30, 2007
  2. jcsd
  3. Nov 30, 2007 #2

Danger

Gold Member

Hello, Dur. Unfortunately, there is a bit of a communications gap here. I don't quite understand what you mean by a 'torque project'. If it means what I think it does, then a simple manual transmission would be a logical approach. You can get all of the pictures and descriptions that you need from a shop manual.

4. Nov 30, 2007 #3

dur

Hi Danger, I have to do a project for my physic's professor, and my project about the torque, so I think I need some pectures, and a good subjects to make my project very good. I'm studying a College Physics . Danger, can you pease tell me here is the shop manual ?

5. Nov 30, 2007 #4

Danger

Gold Member

I'm still not sure what it is that you're trying to accomplish. My impression is that you're dealing with torque multiplication through pulleys, gearing, etc.. That's why I suggested a manual transmission as an object of study.
    A shop manual is a 'how-to' guide for mechanics, and is specific to a particular model or series of vehicles. Since I don't know where you live, I can't say as to where you can get one easily. Your local library or school auto mechanics shop might have one. In my case, I just borrow one from my mechanic and photocopy the pages that I need.
    You could also go to 'How Stuff Works' (.com). They have an excellent section on how gears work.

6. Dec 1, 2007 #5

dur