1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

I think I'm wasting my time and money applying to grad school. What else is out there

1. Oct 19, 2012 #1
    I'm currently studying for the PGRE.

I'm doing miserable. After 3 years of physics courses, this is completely discouraging. Just completely. I don't know half this material, and I've done very well in almost all of my physics courses (except EM...).

I'm starting to panic. I don't think I'm going to score very high on the PGRE, not even sure if I'm going to get into the test because I made a mistake with the date, and I'm starting to think I need to figure out a different option.

Needless to say, with graduation being in the spring, I'm utterly panicking. I have no idea what to do. I love science, I loved doing research during my REU, but I don't think I'm cut out for grad school.

My advisor is useless. I've tried talking to him about this, and he just assures me I'll get into grad school. Even if I do, I don't think I can handle the work.

Has anyone else been in this situation? What did you do.

I really need some advice. Please?

Thanks

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 20, 2012 #2

Nabeshin

Science Advisor

Re: I think I'm wasting my time and money applying to grad school. What else is out t

Any specifics would be helpful in figuring out your realistic chance of being admitted to graduate school.

4. Oct 20, 2012 #3
    Re: I think I'm wasting my time and money applying to grad school. What else is out t

I am in the same situation. Been thinking seriously about grad school for the better part of a year, but when it came down to studying for the pgre it just became extremely discouraging.