How can I make my own computer mouse?

• Thread starter iceman90289
  • Start date
In summary: You could also use a small motor to turn the wheel or a laser to indicate the position of the cursor.In summary, the electronics for a mouse can be found at various places online. You will need to find a mouse, and then find the corresponding protocol for the device. This can be difficult, as not all mice have the same communication protocol. If you want to do something unique with the mouse electronics, then I would be happy to help.
iceman90289
I was at the apple store the other day and thought to myself "these products are so pretty. Currently I am going to school to be an electronics engineering tech (my schedule doesn't allow me to go for EE), i just want to build a simple mouse for a computer. i know i'd have to program a driver and while I've coded various other things I've never done a driver before. but how do i approach this project? i know datasheets will have all the info i need for parts, but what about the physical shape of the mouse itself? how do i make that? can i buy a plastic box and shape it down how i need it?

Engineering news on Phys.org
Why not buy a mouse and replace the shell with your own modelling clay version.

You do not have to write a driver. You only need identify the existing mouse communication protocol.

iceman90289 said:
I was at the apple store the other day and thought to myself "these products are so pretty. Currently I am going to school to be an electronics engineering tech (my schedule doesn't allow me to go for EE), i just want to build a simple mouse for a computer. i know i'd have to program a driver and while I've coded various other things I've never done a driver before. but how do i approach this project? i know datasheets will have all the info i need for parts, but what about the physical shape of the mouse itself? how do i make that? can i buy a plastic box and shape it down how i need it?