1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Identifying a bacteria

1. Feb 7, 2010 #1
    ok so I work in a chemistry lab but I am a microbiology major. Our lab works with endophytes. We have a positive result for one of them and I have to identify this thing by April. This task seems impossible to me. They did not keep track of where this sample came from or even which organism it was isolated from. All they have is that it is a white bacteria (like thats helpful). I did a gram stain and it is a gram positive cocci ( not a small category). Since it is a chemistry lab I am very limited in what tests I can actually do. I am only an undergrad and I have no idea where to go from here. My graduate student is also a chemistry person. So no help there.

Please HELP!

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 7, 2010 #2

Monique

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

You are a microbiology major and you do not know how to identify a microorganism? That is very surprising. I don't know the English name for the test, but there is a series of tests that are done by growing the microorganism in test tubes on different media that helps in the identifications of microorganisms. The color of the tubes after incubation is dependent on the biochemistry and is used for the classification.

I looked it up and apparently it is called an API test, you should look up the information on how to formulate the media for the tests yourself.

4. Feb 7, 2010 #3