1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

If V is a subspace of Rn, prove that the orthogonal complement of V is also a subspac

1. Jan 24, 2013 #1
    This Exercise 3.3 from Advanced Calculus of Several Variables by C.H. Edwards Jr.:

If [itex]V[/itex] is a subspace of [itex]\Re^{n}[/itex], prove that [itex]V^{\bot}[/itex] is also a subspace.

As usual, this is not homework. I am just a struggling hobbyist trying to better myself on my own time.

The only progress I've been able make towards a formal proof is to unpack the definition of a subspace: a set of objects which is closed over two operations: [itex]o_{1} + o_{2}[/itex] and [itex]a \cdot o[/itex], where [itex]o, o_{1}[/itex], and [itex]o_{2} [/itex] are any objects in the set, and a is a real number.

So what I want to show is that for two objects [itex]o_{1}, o_{2} \in V^{\bot}[/itex], their sum [itex]o_{1} + o_{2} \in V^{\bot}[/itex], and [itex]a \cdot o \in V^{\bot}[/itex].

But, I think this is the sticking point: what does it take to formally establish that some vector [itex]o[/itex] is in [itex]V^{\bot}[/itex]?

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 24, 2013 #2

Dick

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

Re: If V is a subspace of Rn, prove that the orthogonal complement of V is also a sub

Show that the dot product of o with any vector in V is zero.

4. Jan 24, 2013 #3
    Re: If V is a subspace of Rn, prove that the orthogonal complement of V is also a sub