1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

I'm a high school student and I want to be a Theoretical Astrophyicist. Need help.

1. Apr 28, 2009 #1
    I want to be a theoretical physicist. I'm 15 and a sophomore in high school. I'll be graduating next year (3 year program) when I'm 16. It's not a minimun program, I'm actually on the most distinguished graduation program (Texas Scholar). I just get many credits in a short amount of time. Since this year I've made all A's excluding my English class in which I made an 85. I will have as many advanced maths and sciences as possible next year. I'm not at the top of my class, so I don't think I will be able to get a scholarship to a university. I know I need to be strong in math and science, especially Physics, to be a theoretical astrophysicist. So, I found my mom's old college Algebra and have been learning concepts from it for about a month. (I wrote an equation for the sums of two summations. Here's the URL: https://www.physicsforums.com/showthread.php?t=309945&highlight=summation+notation). I'd like to get a PhD from an Ivy League college, but I don't know if I will be able to transfer from a junior college to a state university and then to an Ivy League. I'm aware that Theoretical Astrophysicists don't make a fortune for their work, but that's okay. I'd much rather have answers to my questions and love my job rather than wonder and be miserable at work. Does anyone think I would be able to get any good scholarships to a university anywhere or in the state of Texas? Does anyone know if there any scholarships for graduating early anywhere or to a university in Texas? Does anyone think I could get a PhD from an Ivy League college or transfer possibly from an average university to an Ivy League college eventually?