How do I solve for gravitational force and tension in physics?

• Thread starter matchboxdude
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Physics
In summary, the conversation discussed questions regarding physics problems involving gravitational force and tension. The first question involved two parts of a spaceship with known weights and distance, and required using the formula F=(G*m1*m2)/r^2 to determine the gravitational force. The second question involved a car towing a boat and trailer, and required using the equation T=m*a to find the tension in the hitch. The conversation also clarified that the masses of the objects should be used, not their weights, and provided the correct calculations for both questions.
matchboxdude
I have a few questions that I desparately need help with. I'm new to this physics thing and it is really getting me.

On Earth, you have two parts of a spaceship with weights 19000N and 5100N. They are separated center to center by 10m and are uniform spherical objects. what is the magnitude of the gravitational force that each part exerts on each other out in space, far from everything?
I figure i would use F=(G*m1*m2)/r2 / F=(6.67E-11*19000*5100)/10^2 , but i got the question wrong. So, I don;t know my other options...

Then another question is...
A car is towing a boat on a trailer. The car starts from rest and accelerates to a speed of 12m/s in 18seconds. The combined mass of the boat and trailer is 490kg. What is the tension in the hitch that connects the trailer to the car?
I have an equation from a different problem, but I'm not sure if it works for this problem. T + 9.8 = mass*accelleration. But using this gives me an incorrect answer. So I assume I am going in the wrong direction again.

Thanks ahead of time for any help.

Physics news on Phys.org
#1 m1 and m2 are the masses of the parts of the spaceship not their weights.