Imaging Fomalhauts Debris Disk

In summary: It looks like the brightness of that spot is about 1.2 - 0.2, or 100001-100000 times brighter than the star itself.
Drakkith
Mentor
This is my first attempt at imaging a debris disk around a star. I chose Fomalhaut because, as far as I can tell, there are no other stars visible at this time of year in the northern hemisphere with their disk's as widely separated from them as Fomalhaut.

This task is rather difficult. Fomalhaut is VERY bright. Even with a 1 second exposure of ONLY the near-infrared range from 680-1000 nm, I was already maxing out my pixel values in the center of the airy disc. I stacked 1,000 one second exposures, for a total of about 16.6 minutes imaging time. Between imaging time, downloading time, and whatever else my camera does while taking pictures, it took me an hour just to get that 16.6 minutes of exposure time. I then took 600 one second exposures of Deneb, which was the only star I could find that was near the same spectra classification given my extremely limited resources at the time. (No internet, no decent program, and I only decided to give it a go after I had set up for some imaging and noticed Fomalhaut was up, so I hadn't planned ahead very well lol) I was pressed for time so I didn't get as many exposures of either star as I would have liked.

After stacking the images, I aligned and subtracted Deneb from Fomalhaut to get the image attached to this post. I don't know if I managed to get it or not, but it looks like it's possible. I might have caught a hint of the edge of it. The right side of the star where the red mark is at should be the inner edge of the disk. The angular distance in the image matches with the debris disk, and the orientation seems to match up as well. Well, as best as I can tell given that I don't know which direction is what in my image, only which axis goes in which direction. (The lessons you learn...)