Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Immune Systems

1. Jul 17, 2004 #1
    Immune system

We are all familiar with the human physical immune system, which fights off foreign invaders. We are not as familiar with the human intellectual immune system (HIIS), which fights off foreign memes. I am no expert in ether system and my analysis is based upon observation and study. I suspect all those with similar opinions, who seek authorities, can find them if they wish.

I suspect both systems are results of the evolution Darwin discovered. By the way, I want to note that Darwin’s Theory is a good example of a meme. Some other human authors of memes might be Socrates, Jesus, Galileo and recently the four judges in Massachusetts who made a judgement regarding same-sex marriage.

The purpose of the HIIS is to protect the intellectual status quo. I am confident that such an immune system is a result of evolutionary forces for the simple reason that it seems to be part of our genetic structure. I guess that every new meme faces an uphill battle against this HIIS and only the strongest memes survive.

The people, as a community, must guard against the automatic rejection apparatus of HIIS. HIIS is, I guess, an automatic response not requiring reasoned judgement. The community as a group must supply the reasoned analysis to prevent the early rejection of a new meme that might be valuable. The conservative elements of every community seem poised to fight against new memes. The obvious examples being those noted above.

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 17, 2004 #2
    i suspect it's all about the trap of choosing the most convenient meme... the one that will give the individual the least worries...
    we have the dark figure in our subconsiousness to deal with those sort of things on a grand scale, but usually it goes by undetected i'm afraid...