1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

In need of some advice.

1. Nov 16, 2009 #1
    Hello all,

This is my first time posting and I wasn't exactly sure where to post a question such as mine so I apologize in advance if I've posted in the wrong place.

For those of you who wish to give me advice it is necessary for me to give you some background on myself. I am 24 years old and I have just recently gone back to school to graduate. Awhile ago I realized that there is nothing I want to do more than study physics. I must say that I feel I am a smart person eventhough I haven't graduated and never really paid attention during class due to laziness. But when I did pay attention math and science were my strongest subjects. So needless to say I got by in math by memorizing the formulas. But now I want a deeper understanding of math. So I've gone back to school(distance ed) and I'm starting from the beginning with math(8) and science(8). I've gone through my math book and basically it's just a review of math 7, which was so long ago I don't remember. The lesson on a particular subject will just give you a very brief explanation of how to do it, then drill it in to you by answering questions. And after each lesson I'm left wondering why. Why do you do it this way? Why does this work? For instance, in the geometry section, it teaches you how to calculate the area of a circle by (A=pi r^2) and that's all it tells me, it does not go into the explanations of why.