How can a simulation improve understanding of the inclined plane for students?

In summary, the conversation revolves around a teacher's creation of a simulation using geogebra to help students understand the inclined plane and the forces involved. The simulation is available for free and the teacher asks for feedback on its helpfulness. The conversation also touches on the importance of real experiments and calculations in education, as well as the upcoming test in June as a way to assess the effectiveness of the simulation.
Christian Turre
Hi.

As a teacher I know that many of my students find it difficult to understand the inclined plane and the forces involved. So I decided to create a simulation using geogebra. I uploaded a video to Youtube showing how the simulation works:

The simulation is free to download if you want to try it out. What do think of my simulation, is it helpful? Do let me know! Get the simulation here: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/3906570/Inclined_plane.ggb

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
If your students find it hard, give them a trolley, a variably inclined plane and a spring. That should sort out the conceptual aspects of it - even if their results aren't perfect.
I am glad I am not a student these days. I would suspect every simulation because I would be playing computer games in my spare time and we all know they are only as factual as the author chooses to make them. The only 'simulation' you can trust is the Mathematical Model.

sophiecentaur said:
If your students find it hard, give them a trolley, a variably inclined plane and a spring. That should sort out the conceptual aspects of it - even if their results aren't perfect.
I am glad I am not a student these days. I would suspect every simulation because I would be playing computer games in my spare time and we all know they are only as factual as the author chooses to make them. The only 'simulation' you can trust is the Mathematical Model.