Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Incurable diseases

1. Jan 10, 2006 #1

Lisa!

Gold Member

So I have this pretty crazy question in my mind that always bothers me. Imagine a person who's suffering from an incurable disease and is willing to die. This sick person knows his condition would become worse and worse evryday and there would be no hope to cure his sickness. and living longer for him means tolerating more awful pain. He really wants to die but he doesn't want to do it by himself and wants someone( his doctor or nurse...) to do it for him. Now the question is: is it immoral if that person accepts his request and kill him by changing the dose of his drugs for example?

PS I'm not going to kill anyone since I'm not a doctor or nurse. So don't be afraid of answering to my question!:redface:

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 10, 2006 #2

Curious3141

Homework Helper

This is a terribly complex issue, and a lot has been said about it. Ethical principles and moral views vary from individual to individual, and in a lot of cases, the law makes a very clear stand on the issue.

The issue is far too complex to be explained in a post here, so you should google a few things : "physican assisted suicide", "Hippocratic oath" (and relevance to modern medicine), "euthanasia", "active euthanasia", "passive euthanasia", "double effect", "right to die", "living will".

I'm sure you'll get a much more complete understanding of the issues involved. Following that, you can start a more directed discussion. :smile:

Last edited: Jan 10, 2006
  4. Jan 10, 2006 #3

Lisa!

Gold Member

Thank you very much!:smile: It's laways good to have someone who points you in the right direction.

5. Jan 10, 2006 #4