How Does Grounding Affect Charge Distribution in Nested Spherical Shells?

In summary: Remember, practice makes perfect so keep working on those problems and don't be afraid to ask for help if you need it. Good luck on your exam tomorrow!In summary, the concept of induction of conductors can be tricky to understand. When a conductor is placed in an electric field, the charges within it will redistribute until the net electric field inside the conductor is zero. In the problem shared, the smaller shell is grounded, causing the charges on both shells to redistribute, resulting in an induced charge on the larger shell. This induced charge remains until the shells are separated or the charges are allowed to flow freely into the Earth. It is important to practice and seek help if needed in order to
kikonenko
Hi, I'm a physics student, preparing for an exam (it happens to be tomorrow heh), and I'm having trouble with induction of conductors. I need to get it right so i can solve more difficult problems, but the more i try the worse it gets. Basically i'd like to know how things work in sets of shells / spheres where one is grounded, or connected to another sphere, you know these kind of problems. i know the basics, shielding prevents outside charge to induce inner conductors, E-field inside the conductor itself is zero, and net charge remains the same while no contact between conductors/earth is made.

Since I'm lost, i tried with some solved examples in my book (no explanation, just numbers)

Here's a pic of a problem http://imagebin.org/205050