Inductor circuit time constant

In summary, the time constant for an inductor is not L times R, but L/R. This means the time needed to store and release energy is being prolonged with decreasing the R. This is one way to think about it. Increasing the resistance decreases the value of the maximum current and so the current through the inductor would reach its maximum earlier.
Genji Shimada

Homework Statement

Hi. I started studying LR circuits and the first thing that made me do searches in textbooks of mine and in the internet was the time constant which is surprisingly not L times R, but L/R which would mean the time needed to store and release energy is being prolonged with decreasing the R. I am trying to visualize this in the same manner as i visualize RC time constant ( Resistance increases which decreases the rate at which charge flows and it takes more time for the charge to eventualy build up on the plates). Yet i can't get a simillar logic with LR circuit. I have one explanation of my own bellow, but i doubt a bit that it's right.

Homework Equations

The Attempt at a Solution

This is the way i think about it: